Celebrazio Net

Contact Us

Serie A Champions History

June, 2023

Serie A was initiated in 1929-30. From 1898 to 1929. Italian football was played in regional groups. "Calcio Italiano" means football ("soccer") in Italian. "Scudetto" means small shield.

The Serie A Championship title is referred to as the Scudetto (small shield) because the winning team will wear a small coat of arms with the Italian flag on their jersey in the following season. The most successful league club is Juventus F.C. with over 30 championships, followed by A.C. Milan with close to twenty. For every ten titles won, a club is allowed to wear a golden star above their club badge; so Juventus has three, while AC Milan and Internazionale have one star each.

Season Champion (Scudetto) Runner-up
2022-23 Napoli Lazio
2021-22 AC Milan Inter Milan
2020-21 Inter Milan AC Milan
2019-20 Juventus Inter Milan
2018-19 Juventus Napoli
2017-18 Juventus Napoli
2016-17 Juventus AS Roma
2015-16 Juventus Napoli
2014-15 Juventus AS Roma
2013-14 Juventus AS Roma
2012-13 Juventus Napoli
2011-12 Juventus AC Milan
2010-11 AC Milan Inter Milan
2009-10 Inter Milan AS Roma
2008-09 Inter Milan Juventus
2007-08 Inter Milan AS Roma
2006-07 Inter Milan AS Roma
2005-06 Inter Milan AS Roma
2004-05 [none] revoked
2003-04 AC Milan AS Roma
2002-03 Juventus Inter Milan
2001-02 Juventus AS Roma
2000-01 AS Roma Juventus
1999-2000 Lazio Juventus
1998-99 AC Milan Lazio
1997-98 Juventus Inter Milan
1996-97 Juventus Parma
1995-96 AC Milan Juventus
1994-95 Juventus Lazio
1993-94 AC Milan Juventus
1992-93 AC Milan Inter Milan
1991-92 AC Milan Juventus
1990-91 Sampdoria AC Milan
1989-90 Napoli AC Milan
1988-89 Inter Milan Napoli
1987-88 AC Milan Napoli
1986-87 Napoli Juventus
1985-86 Juventus AS Roma
1984-85 Verona Torino
1983-84 Juventus AS Roma
1982-83 AS Roma Juventus
1981-82 Juventus Fiorentina
1980-81 Juventus AS Roma
1979-80 Inter Milan Juventus
1978-79 AC Milan Perugia
1977-78 Juventus Lanerossi
1976-77 Juventus Torino
1975-76 Torino Juventus
1974-75 Juventus Napoli
1973-74 Lazio Juventus
1972-73 Juventus AC Milan
1971-72 Juventus AC Milan
1970-71 Inter Milan AC Milan
1969-70 Cagliari Inter Milan
1968-69 Fiorentina Cagliari
1967-68 AC Milan Napoli
1966-67 Juventus Inter Milan
1965-66 Inter Milan Bologna
1964-65 Inter Milan AC Milan
1963-64 Bologna Inter Milan
1962-63 Inter Milan Juventus
1961-62 AC Milan Inter Milan
1960-61 Juventus AC Milan
1959-60 Juventus Fiorentina
1958-59 AC Milan Fiorentina
1957-58 Juventus Fiorentina
1956-57 AC Milan Fiorentina
1955-56 Fiorentina AC Milan
1954-55 AC Milan Udinese
1953-54 Inter Milan Juventus
1952-53 Inter Milan Juventus
1951-52 Juventus AC Milan
1950-51 AC Milan Inter Milan
1949-50 Juventus AC Milan
1948-49 Torino Inter Milan
1947-48 Torino AC Milan
1946-47 Torino Juventus
1945-46 Torino Juventus
1944-45 suspended World War II
1942-43 Torino Livorno
1941-42 AS Roma Torino
1940-41 Bologna Ambrosiana 'Inter'
1939-40 Ambrosiana 'Inter' Bologna
1938-39 Bologna Torino
1937-38 Ambrosiana 'Inter' Juventus
1936-37 Bologna Lazio
1935-36 Bologna AS Roma
1934-35 Juventus Ambrosiana 'Inter'
1933-34 Juventus Ambrosiana 'Inter'
1932-33 Juventus Ambrosiana 'Inter'
1931-32 Juventus Bologna
1930-31 Juventus AS Roma
1929-30 Ambrosiana SS Genova 1893
1929 Bologna Torino
1928 FBC Torino Genoa
1927 FBC Torino (revoked) Bologna
1926 FBC Juventus Alba Roma
1925 Bologna FBC Alba Roma
1924 Genoa FBC AC Savoia
1923 Genoa FBC Lazio
1922 CCI US Pro Vercelli Fortitudo Roma
1922 FIGC US Novese Sampierdarenese
1921 US Pro Vercelli Pisa
1920 FBC Internazionale Livorno
1918-19 suspended World War I
1917-18 suspended World War I
1916-17 suspended World War I
1915 Genoa FBC (FIGC awarded the title)
1914 Casale Lazio
1913 Pro Vercelli Lazio
1912 Pro Vercelli Venezia
1911 Pro Vercelli Vicenza
1910 FBC Internazionale Pro Vercelli
1909 Pro Vercelli US Milanese
1908 Pro Vercelli US Milanese
1907 Milan FBC FBC Torino
1906 Milan FBC FBC Juventus
1905 FBC Juventus Genoa FBC
1904 Genoa FBC FBC Juventus
1903 Genoa FBC FBC Juventus
1902 Genoa FBC Milan Cricket & FBC
1901 Milan Cricket & FBC Genoa FBC
1900 Genoa FBC FBC Torinese
1899 Genoa Cricket & Athletic Club FBC Internazionale
1898 Genoa Cricket & Athletic Club FBC Internazionale

*Inter Milan's total includes three championships as Ambrosiana-Inter; no title was awarded in 1927 after Torino was stripped by the Italian Federation; Torino was declared champion in 1948-49 when most of the team died in a plane crash. Totals and champions from 2003-2006 had to be restated in 2006 when a scandal shocked Italian football. Juventus, AC Milan, Fiorentina, and Lazio were retroactively penalized, Juventus was stripped of more than one title, and the winner of 2004-2005 season declared null - no title awarded.


1998-2024 Celebrazio.net